Loading color scheme


Indian Institute of Technology -Indian School of Mines- (IIT (ISM) Dhanbad)

The Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) is a public engineering and research institution located in Dhanbad, India. It was formerly known as Indian School of Mines and was a Deemed University before it got converted into an Institute of National Importance under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961. IIT (ISM) Dhanbad is located in the mineral-rich region of India, in the city of Dhanbad. It is the third oldest institute (after IIT Roorkee and IIT (BHU) Varanasi) which got converted into an IIT. It was established by British Indian Government on the lines of the Royal School of Mines - London, and was formally inaugurated on 9 December 1926 by Lord Irwin, the then Viceroy of India. It started as an institution to impart mining education, and today, has grown into a technical institution with various academic departments.

IIT(ISM)DHANBAD is in charge of 2 PAVITR pilots: Rain Water Harvesting and SBR Upgrade